Board of Aldermen

Procedures and Policies​

  • Council/Manager Form of Government

    • The Town of North Topsail Beach has a Council/Manager form of government.  

    • The council, or Board of Aldermen, is made up of 6 members, 5 aldermen and a mayor. 

    • The Mayor is elected every 2 years.  

    • Aldermen serve 4 year terms.


  • Monthly Meetings

    • The Board of Aldermen meet at 6:30 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month.  

    • The Board will hear general public comment near the beginning and end of each regular meeting during the public forums. 


Get Involved

  • Putting your issue on the agenda

    • If you wish to have an item on the regular meeting agenda please contact the Town Clerk at 910-328-1349 ext. 25. 

    • The Town Clerk will send your request to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen.  If one or more Board members agree to put it on the agenda, it will be added. 

    • Please note that the Board votes on the agenda at the beginning of each meeting and agenda items may be removed by a majority vote.  The deadline for submitting supporting documents for agenda items is by the close of business a week prior to the regular meeting date.  

  • Receive Public Notices


Board Members 

Joann McDermon
Term: 4/2020 - 12/2021

306 Marina Way

NTB NC 28460

(484) 614-1204

Tom Leonard
Term: 12/2017 - 12/2021

218 Coastal Drive

NTB NC 28460

(910) 548-4536

Richard Grant
Term: 5/2020 - 12/2021

202 Sea Dunes Court

NTB NC 28460



Mayor Pro Tem
Mike Benson
Term: 12/2017 - 12/2021 ​

220 Oyster Lane

NTB NC 28460

(919) 889-8537

Richard Peters
Term: 12/2017 - 12/2021

601 New River Inlet Road

NTB NC 28460

(910) 328-2488

Susan Meyer
Term: 6/2020 - 12/2021

2224 New River Inlet Rd #138 

NTB NC 28460

(919) 971-8585

  • Facebook Social Icon
Town of North Topsail Beach Town Hall
2008 Loggerhead Court
North Topsail Beach, NC 28460
1000 NC HWY 210
Sneads Ferry, NC 28460
Open Monday thru Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Photo Credit: Buddy Morrison